Member Sign In

Member Sign In

California Yacht Club

Marina Del Rey, California

California Yacht Club was started in 1922 in Los Angeles harbor.  In 1941, America went to war and CYC’s facilities were taken over by the Coast Guard.  The club was re-activated in 1961 and moved into its current home in Marina del Rey in 1966. Members have competed in and won the America’s Cup and numerous Olympic medals and world championships. CYC is a three time winner of US Sailing’s St. Petersburg Trophy for excellence in race management.  The club prides itself on a rich history of providing leadership for local, national and international yachting.  California Yacht Club’s 1200 members have sailed in literally every major regatta in the world.

It’s hard to realize that youthful Alan Field has been racing sailboats for nearly half a century – much of it at very high levels. He has tried all aspects of this sport, racing boats from 8 to 64 feet, but small one-design keelboats have always provided him with the greatest satisfaction. After successfully campaigning a Farr 40 on both the East and  West Coasts (and finishing second in the 2004 North American Championship), he switched to a rewarding Melges 24 program. Field has won national championships in three different classes, including the Melges 24, and also earned the top spot on the podium at US Sailing’s 2006 Championship of Champions. Field will sail this regatta with former Schock 35 national champion Dawn McIntosh, former Lido 14 and Cal 20 national champion Doug McLean, and West Coast Farr 40 High Point champion Tim Clarke.

Skipper: Alan Field
Tactician:  Doug McLean
Crew: Dawn McIntosh
Crew: Tim Clarke



2012 USQS Sponsors


2012 USQS Supporters