
2022 Global Team Race  

Event Calls #2 

 

All situations are on the digital M course 

 

 

Question at Marks 1 (and 5) 

After rounding mark 1 Y reverses course to engage B.  At position 4 B on port luffs to avoid Y 

on starboard and protests.  What should the call be? 

 

Answer  

Penalize Y.  At position 4 when B luffs to avoid Y, she is on another leg of the course from Y.  

Rule 23.2 applies and Y interferes.  B is clearly on another leg of the course from Y because B is 

not yet sailing to the next mark and Y is still on the next leg until she can no longer sail below  

mark 1.  



Rule 18 does not apply between the boats because B is approaching the mark and Y has 

completed passing the mark, left it behind, and although she is heading towards it, she is still 

therefore, in a position where she is leaving it for the purposes of rule 18.1(c). 

 

Question at Marks  2 (and 6) 

After passing mark 2 high in the zone, Y reverses course to engage B .  At position 4 B on port 

luffs to avoid Y on starboard and there is a protest.  What should the call be? 

 

 

Answer  

No penalty.   Rule 23.2 does not apply at position 4, so Y does not interfere with B.  B and Y are 

clearly no longer on different legs of the course because Y can no longer sail to leeward of mark 

2 where she would be on the leg to mark 3.   

However, B is still required to give Y mark-room under rule 18.2(b) because Y has not left the 

zone or passed head-to-wind.   When Y luffs above the mark onto a collision course with B, she 

is subject to rule 16.1 and must give B room to keep clear.  If she fails to do so, Y will not be 

exonerated because she is no longer rounding the mark as necessary to sail the course, and 

therefore, not sailing within her mark-room.  

 

Question at Mark 3 

The situation at mark 3 is covered in TR Call L8.  Y on starboard tack interferes with B on port 

tack at position 5 because B is on the leeward leg and must alter to avoid Y who is on the next 

leg.   B is on another leg of the course from Y until such time as Y can no longer sail to the 

wrong (non-course) side of the mark, in other words Y can only sail to leeward of the mark. 

Rule 18 does not apply, see Rule 18.1(c). 

 



 


