
2022 Global Team Race  

Event Call #1 

Addendum A Rule A3.6 

 

 

Question 1 

 

Just before the start Y is slowly sailing above close-hauled towards the starting line.  B is moving faster 

on a steady course and overlaps Y to leeward about six inches from Y’s port quarter between positions 2 

and 3.  Y promptly heads up slowly and there is contact with no damage at position 3.  B protests and Y 

takes a penalty.  What should the umpire call be? 

 

 
 

 

Answer 1 

 

Penalty B.   

 

 

Addendum A rule A3.6 changes rule D2.2(c) as follows; “An umpire shall decide whether to penalize any 

boat that broke a rule, is not exonerated, and did not take an appropriate penalty.”  B breaks rule 15 when 

she acquires right-of-way by her own actions and initially fails to give Y, a windward boat, room to keep 

clear.  Y breaks rule 11 despite responding promptly in a seamanlike way.  However, Y is exonerated 

under rule 43.1(b) because she is sailing within her entitled room under rule 15.  

 

Question 2 

 

Is the answer to Question 1 the same if Y does not take a penalty?  

 

Answer 2 

 

Yes.  B breaks rule 15.  Y is exonerated for her breach of rule 11 and need not take a penalty.  

 

 

 



Question 3 

 

B and Y are sailing downwind in 7 knots of wind on port tack over a boat length apart.  B suddenly 

gybes and then luffs sharply.  Y promptly gybes and luffs but cannot keep clear.  There is contact with 

no damage.  Y protests and takes a penalty.  What should the umpire call be? 

 

 
Answer 3 

 

Penalty B. 

 

When B gybes then luffs sharply, she breaks rule 16.1 by failing to give Y room to keep clear when she 

changes course.  Y breaks rule 11 when she is not keeping clear.  Although Y takes a penalty, she did 

not need to because she is exonerated under rule 43.1(b) as she is sailing within the room to which she is 

entitled when B changes course. 

 

Similar to the first incident, an umpire shall decide to penalize any boat that breaks a rule, is not 

exonerated, and does not take an appropriate penalty, whether or not the other boat takes a penalty. 

 
 


