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Summary of Changes

Call Subject
Reason
ES Exoneration when compelled to hit a mark
Amended  For consistency with new call J9
ES8 When tacking at a port-hand windward mark
Amended  For consistency with new call J9
G4 Proper course beyond layline to leeward mark
Amended  Clarify call and extend its scope
H2 When has mark-room been given
Amended  For consistency with new call J9
H5 When has mark-room been given
New Clarify new words in rule 18.2(d)
J9 Rules when a boat is denied mark-room at leeward mark
New Rapid response call 2017-001
L2 Interfering when taking a penalty
Deleted Delete call which no longer answers the question
M7 Taking a penalty when OCS and returning to start
Amended  Correct drafting errors in question and answer 1.
M1l Umpire action when no protest after a boat hits a mark
Amended  For consistency with new call J9
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TR CALL E5

Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21 Exoneration

Rule 64.1(a) Penalties and Exoneration

Question

Y reaches the zone of a starboard-hand windward mark clear ahead of B and
slightly above the layline. Both boats are on port tack. The next leg is a beam
reach. Y stops with her bow 1% lengths to windward of, and level with, the
mark. B, on the port tack layline, tries to sail between Y and the mark. However,
Y bears away below her proper course and there is no longer space for B to pass
between Y and the mark. B makes contact with Y and the mark and protests.
What should the call be?

to next/mark

Answer

Penalize Y.

When Y enters the zone she is clear ahead of B and is entitled to mark-room
under rule 18.2(b). Mark-room includes room for Y to round the mark as
necessary to sail her course and, when B becomes overlapped inside her, rule
18.2(c)(2) requires that B also gives Y room to sail her proper course. B does so
and complies with rules 18.2(b) and (c).
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After B becomes overlapped to leeward of Y, Y is required to keep clear. She
fails to do so and breaks rule 11. She is not entitled to exoneration under rule
21(a) because she is not sailing her proper course or within the mark-room to
which she is entitled.

B breaks rule 31 but was compelled to touch the mark as a consequence of Y’s
breach of rule 11. Exonerate B under rule 64.1(a).

Section E — The Windward Mark Supplement 2018



TR CALL ES8

Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.3 Tacking in the Zone

Rule 21 Exoneration

Question 1

Y enters the zone of a port hand windward mark clear ahead of B. Both boats
are on starboard tack. X approaches on port tack and tacks in the zone to
leeward of Y and clear ahead of B. When B establishes an overlap to leeward of
X, X is then unable to give mark-room to B because of the presence of Y. B
makes contact with X and the mark. B protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1

Penalize X and B.

Y on starboard reaches the zone clear ahead of B and B must give her mark-
room under rule 18.2(b). When X passes head to wind from port to starboard
tack in the zone she is then fetching the mark. B and Y have been on starboard
tack since entering the zone, so rule 18.3 applies (and not rule 18.2) between X
and Y and between X and B. When B becomes overlapped inside X, X is
required to give B mark-room and to keep clear of her. X does neither and
breaks rules 11 and 18.3.

Section E — The Windward Mark Supplement 2018



When overlapped inside X, B is sailing within the mark-room to which she is
entitled. However, when B touches the mark, she breaks rule 31 and is not
exonerated under rule 21(b) as she is not compelled to touch it. At position 3,
when it becomes clear that X is not giving mark-room, B is still able to avoid the
mark in a seamanlike way by passing it on the wrong side.

Question 2

The situation is the same except that after position 3 B bears away and passes
the mark on the wrong side. What should the call be?

Answer 2
Penalize X only.
As in Question 1, rule 18.3 applies between X and B. When B becomes

overlapped inside X, she is entitled to mark-room which X fails to give,
breaking rule 18.3. B breaks no rule.

A boat is exonerated under rule 21(b) only if she is sailing within the room or
mark-room to which she is entitled and, from the time it becomes clear that
room is not being given, she is unable to avoid the mark in a seamanlike way.

Section E — The Windward Mark Supplement 2018



TR Call G4

Rule 17 On the Same Tack; Proper Course
Definition Proper Course
Question 1

On a downwind leg, B and Y are overlapped on the same tack; B is subject to
rule 17. B's course to finish as soon as possible is to gybe to sail in the direction
of the next mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

B
} Y
Course to the next mark i

Answer 1

Rule 17 requires that B does not sail above her proper course. B must bear away
no later than when necessary to finish as soon as possible in the absence of .
When she delays beyond this point, she breaks rule 17 by sailing above her
proper course. Penalize B.

However, if there is doubt whether or not B has reached the point where she
must bear away to finish as soon as possible, she is still on a proper course; no
penalty.

Question 2

As question 1 except that B bears away to a run but does not gybe. Y protests.
What should the call be?
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Answer 2

Penalize B. B is still sailing above her proper course and breaks rule 17.

On a downwind leg, a boat is sailing above her proper course when her proper
course is to bear away, even if this requires her to gybe.

Section G — The Run Supplement 2018



TR Call H2

Rule 15 Acquiring Right of Way
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21 Exoneration

Rule 31 Touching a Mark
Question

Three boats B, X, and Y are approaching an off-wind mark to be left to
starboard. The proper course after the mark is a broad reach on port tack. Rule
17 does not apply to B. When B reaches the zone, Y is clear astern. When Y is
alongside the mark, B bears away and gybes to prevent Y from passing between
her and the mark. Y touches B and the mark and protests. What should the call
be?

Answer
Penalize B.

When B reaches the zone she is clear ahead of Y who is required thereafter to
give B mark-room. When Y establishes an inside overlap, she shall also give B
room to sail her proper course. Y does so and does not break rule 18.2(b) or (c).

When B gybes she must initially give Y room to keep clear; she fails to do so
and breaks rule 15. After position 4, B is not entitled to exoneration under rule
21(a) because she is no longer sailing her proper course or within the mark-room
to which she is entitled. Y is exonerated under rule 21(a) for breaking rule 10
and under rule 21(b) because she was compelled to break rule 31.

Section H — The Gybe Mark Supplement 2018



TR CALL H5

Definition Mark-Room
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
Rule 21 Exoneration

Question
Y on port tack is clear ahead of B on starboard tack when Y enters the zone of a
port hand leeward mark. Y sails to leeward of the mark and turns onto her

course to the next mark before position 3. B holds her course until, just before
position 4, she luffs to avoid Y. B protests. What should the call be?

Next mark
—_—F»

Answer
No penalty.

Mark-room includes "room to leave a mark on the required side". If a boat is
still approaching a mark, or is passing a mark, she is still in the process of
leaving it on the required side.

Y is clear ahead of B when she enters the zone and rule 18.2(b) requires B to
give Y mark-room thereafter. When Y is at position 4, mark-room has not yet
been fully given, so rule 18.2(b) still applies and rule 18.2(d) does not. B gives
Y mark-room and room for Y to sail her proper course as required by rule
18.2(c)(2). B breaks no rule.
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At positions 3 and 4 Y is sailing her proper course so she is sailing within the
room to which she is entitled from B. Exonerate Y under rule 21(a) for breaking
rule 10 with B.

When a boat rounds a mark wide, especially an off-wind mark, her proper
course may cease to be close to the mark before she has left the mark on the
required side. In such a case rule 18.2(b) still applies but the mark-room to
which she is entitled no longer includes room to sail to the mark.

Section H — The Gybe Mark Supplement 2018



TR CALL J9

Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room

Rule 21 Exoneration

Rule 31 Touching a Mark

Question 1

X enters the zone at a leeward mark to be left to port clear ahead of A and Y. X
slows down to leeward of the mark in an attempt to trap A outside of her and let
teammate Y pass A. There is contact between all three boats and Y hits the
mark. Y protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1
Penalize Aand Y.

Although Y breaks rule 11 (against A) she is exonerated as she is sailing within
the mark-room to which she is entitled from A. Y hits the mark but she cannot
be exonerated for breaking rule 31 as she could have passed the wrong side of
the mark in a seamanlike way and was not compelled to hit it. Y also breaks
rule 18.2(b) as she failed to give mark-room to X.

A breaks rules 11 (against X) and 18.2(b) against both X and Y. In no case is
she entitled to exoneration.

Section J — The Leeward Mark Supplement 2018



Although X is an obstruction to A and Y, rule 19 does not apply (see rule
19.1(b)).

Question 2

If Y sails the wrong side of the mark to avoid a multiple collision, would the call
be the same?

Answer 2

No. Penalize A only. Y breaks no rule.

Section J — The Leeward Mark Supplement 2018



TR CALL L2

Rule 24.2 Interfering with Another Boat

CALL DELETED

Section L. — Other Rules Supplement 2018



TR CALL M7

Rule 44.2 One-Turn and Two-Turns Penalties

Rule D1.3(a)  Penalties, Taking a Voluntary Penalty

Rule D2.2(f) Umpired Races: Penalty Description

Rule D2.3(f) Penalties Initiated by Umpires: Fails to take a Penalty
Rule D2.4(b)  Signals by an Umpire, Penalty

At the start of a race, B is OCS and has been given a two-turns penalty under
rule D2.2(f). B immediately bears away, gybes and tacks, but then sails towards
the pin end of the starting line before she again bears away, gybes around the
mark and then tacks.

Question 1
Has B taken her penalty correctly?

Answer 1

No. Rule 44.2 requires B to make two turns promptly and in the same direction.
By breaking away after the first turn and sailing to a different area, B has not
promptly taken a Two-Turns Penalty. Therefore she has not complied with rule
44.2.

Question 2
What action should the umpire take?

Answer 2

Boat B failed to take the penalty in accordance with rule 44.2. Therefore, she has
not complied with rule D2.2(f). Under rule D2.3(f), an umpire may now initiate
a penalty without a protest from another boat. In this case it is correct to do so.
The umpire could either give another Two-Turns Penalty by signalling under
rule D2.4(b), or, when appropriate, signal under rule D2.4(b) and at the same
time hailing the boat 'One-Turn Penalty'.

Question 3

Would the procedures be the same if B had not been given a penalty by the
umpire, but rather attempted to take a voluntary penalty, except that the penalty
did not comply with rule 44.2?

Answer 3

No. The boat has been protested and no boat has taken a penalty. Rule D2.2(c)
applies and, as the boat has broken a rule (see first paragraph above), the umpire
shall penalize her under rule D2.2(f). See also call M9.
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TR CALL M11

Rule 21 Exoneration
Rule D2.2 Protests by Boats
Rule D2.3(a) Penalties Initiated by Umpires

Question
Y is overlapped on the inside of B when B enters the zone of a mark to be

rounded to port. The umpires agree that Y touched the mark. No boat protests
and no boat takes a penalty. What action should the umpires take?

Answer

If Y could have avoided contact with the mark in a seamanlike way, umpires
should act under rule D2.3(a) and penalize Y for breaking rule 31. Otherwise
exonerate Y under rule 21(b) and make no signal. See also calls E8 and JO.

B cannot be penalized under rule D2.2 because no boat protested.

Section M — The Umpiring Process Supplement 2018
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