N Y Ä Ν D S K Α

Club History

Nyländska Jaktklubben is the largest and oldest registered yacht club in Finland. The club has more than 2,800 members and was founded in March 4, 1861. Upon approval of its rules by Czar Alexander II in St. Petersburg. At the

time Finland was called the Grand Duchy of Finland and it was part of the Russian Empire. NJK has been a pioneer in racing under sail. The first race was organized the same year that the club was founded, and on the club's initiative the Finnish Sailing Association was founded in 1906. NJK has 10 harbors in the archipelago only a day's sailing distance from each other, from east to west. NJK has an adult Sailing Center with J/80 and 606 boats owned by the club. Junior sailors have the opportunity to sailboats owned by the club such as Optimists, Zoom 8s and RS Visions.

Invitational Cup History

NJK competed in the first edition of the Invitational Cup in 2009 where it placed fourth, its highest finish in the cup. The NJK also competed in 2011 where it placed 16th and 2013 where it placed 18th. The NJK took the next couple of years off and came back in 2021 where it placed 14th. NJK's 2023 Invitational Cup team consists of many of the same members as the 2021 team and has been practicing with each other during different occasions.

Crew

The helmsman for NJK's team will once again be Henrik Thelen. With 49 years of sailing behind him, Thelen placed second at the International 8 Mr Class World Championship in 2008, 10th at Whitebread Around the World Race in 1989, and third at the Melges 24 European Championships in both 1996 and 1999. Accompanying Thelen, and doing the tactics, will be Manni Borg. Some of his accomplishments include third place at the Dragon Gold Cup in 2000, second at the H Boat World Championship and fourth at Soling Europeans in

NJK CREW

Helmsperson - Henrik Thelen (Helsinki, FIN) Tactician - Magnus Borg (Helsinki, FIN) Jan Osterman (Helsinki, FIN) Camilla Cedercreutz (Helsinki, FIN) Niki Blässar (Helsinki, FIN) Mattias Therman (Helsinki, FIN) Samuel Thesleff (Helsinki, FIN) Thomas Knudsen (Kirkkonumi, FIN)





HELSINKI, FINLAND