
Team Race Test Rule 16.2 – Q&A 

 

 

16.2 In addition, a starboard-tack boat on a beat to windward shall not bear away to a course more 

than 90 degrees from the true wind if as a result the port-tack boat would immediately need 

to change course to keep clear of her. 

 

Reason for the test:  Current Team Racing Call D2, particularly answer 2, is agreed as the correct 

interpretation of current Part 2 rule 16.2.  However, the switch off of the rule when the boats are 

approaching each other as shown in Call D2 creates undesirable situations with a high risk of damage to 

the boats in a continuous dial-down as the boats get closer to each other.  This cannot be resolved 

without a significant change to the rule.   

 

Information for Competitors:  

 

1. Port is always the keep clear boat and nothing in rule 16.1 or test rule 16.2 relieves her of this 

obligation. 
 

2. When starboard bears off to a beam reach, she is heading approximately 90 degrees from the true 

wind.  She is subject to rule 16.1 while bearing away up to this ‘cross-over’ heading.  However, rule 

16.2 also applies when she bears away at any time after crossing this perpendicular to the true wind, 

and any immediate course change required by port to keep clear of her will mean starboard breaks 

this rule. 

 

3. When starboard changes course above 90, the closer the proximity of the boats, and/or the higher the 

wind velocity, the more space port needs to promptly respond to course changes by 

starboard.  (Time to respond is always promptly and doesn't change). 

 

4. Starboard is always permitted to luff towards port, subject to rule 16.1. 

 

      

  



Team Race Test Rule 16.2 

 

Question 1:   

Does the test rule 16.2 apply when starboard bears away while sailing above 90 degrees from the true 

wind to block a port-tack boat? 

 

Answer:  No.   

Rule 16.1 applies and starboard must give port room to keep clear in a seamanlike way.  If port responds 

promptly and cannot keep clear, then starboard breaks rule 16.1 unless she gives port room to keep clear 

by altering course herself. 

 

 

 

 

  



Team Race Test Rule 16.2 

 

Question 2:    

Can a starboard tack boat bear away to a course more than 90 degrees from the true wind to take away a 

port-tack boat’s ‘down option’ (escape path to pass downwind of starboard)? 

Answer:  Yes…  

As long as starboard is far enough away so that the port-tack boat does not have to change course 

immediately to keep clear of her (Position 2).   As the boats converge, the starboard tack boat may 

change course to windward from sailing a course more than 90 degrees from the true wind subject to 

complying with rule 16.1.  However, she risks breaking rule 16.2 if she bears away further below 90 

degrees from the true wind when the boats are closer together.  

 

 

 
 

  



Team Race Test Rule 16.2 

 

Question 3:   

Can a starboard-tack boat ‘play back’ to engage a port-tack boat on a windward leg? 

 

Answer:  Yes…  

However, once she is sailing more than 90 degrees from the true wind, she will break rule 16.2 if she 

bears away further (position 4) and the port-tack boat must change course immediately to keep clear of 

her.  The starboard-tack boat is permitted to luff, and when she does so is only subject to rule 16.1.   

 

 

 
 

 

  



Team Race Test Rule 16.2 

 

Question 4:   

Can a starboard-tack boat bear away to a course more than 90 degrees from the true wind to block a 

leeward boat that is tacking to duck her? 

 

Answer:  Yes…   

As long as the starboard-tack boat does not bear away any further after the leeward boat passes head to 

wind onto port-tack, and as a result that boat must change course immediately to keep clear, starboard 

does not break rule 16.2.    

 

However, if the port-tack boat has not completed her tack and after initially holding her course the 

starboard-tack boat must bear away to avoid contact and comply with rule 14, starboard does not break 

rule 16.2.  If this happens, Yellow breaks rule 13 – while tacking. 

 

 

 

 

  



Team Race Test Rule 16.2 

 

Question 5:   

How does test rule 16.2 apply at a port-hand windward mark? 

 

Answer:   

When a starboard-tack boat has clearly overstood a windward mark to be left to port, her proper course 

is no longer close-hauled or above.  She is not on a beat to windward as described in Case 132.   Rule 

16.2 does not apply when she bears away while clearly above the layline and her proper course is below 

close-hauled.  However, as soon as she reaches a position where she is no longer over standing the mark 

and her proper course is close-hauled or above, she is ‘on a beat to windward’ and rule 16.2 will apply if 

she bears away to a course more than 90 degrees from the true wind. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


