
 

 

Global Team Race Question 3 

 

Situation: 

Yellow is ahead of Blue on a downwind course.  Blue establishes an overlap very close to 

leeward of yellow. From the moment the overlap is established Yellow promptly responds by 

altering up in a seamanlike way.  Blue at the same moment bears down to avoid a collision.  

 

Question: 

Did blue break rule 15? 

Answer: 

No.  Yellow is required to keep clear under rule 11 and responds promptly in a seamanlike 

way. Blue acquires right-of-way by her own actions and is subject to rule 15.  She complies 

by initially giving Yellow room to keep clear.   

See also TR Call D3. 


