Member Sign In

Member Sign In

Royal Yacht Squadron

Royal Yacht Squadron
Great Britain

The Yacht Club, as the Squadron was first known, was founded at the Thatched House Tavern in St James’s, London, on the 1st of June 1815. The qualification entitling a gentleman to become a member was the ownership of a vessel not under 10 tons. Today this is interpreted as a gentleman “actively interested in yachting”. A plain white burgee graced the masthead of members’ yachts; they also wore a plain white ensign with the union in the canton. In 1821 this was changed to a red burgee and ensign.

The Earl of Yarborough, later first Commodore of the Yacht Club, welcomed the Prince Regent as a member in 1817. In 1820, when the Prince Regent became George IV, Royal was added to the club's name. The Club's association with the Royal Navy began early and Nelson’s Captain at Trafalgar, Admiral Sir Thomas Hardy, was among early Honorary Naval members.

Invitational Cup Team

Glynn Williams

Seasoned owner-driver who has campaigned keelboats from 1987 initially with a C&C 36 in New Orleans, an IMX 38 in Singapore and The Solent, a BH 41 in the Comoddores Cup, a Farr 45 in The Solent, Ireland and Mediteranean including the One Ton Cup in St Tropez and finally a Swan 45 in UK and Mediteranean waters. Major achievements:

2010 IRC Nationals Class Zero Winner
2010 Normandy Sailing Week Class 1 Winner
2009 Pirelli Portofino Regatta Winner
2008 Rolex Capri Sailing Week Winner
2007 Class Winner Cowes Week
2007 Warsash Spring Series Winner Class 1
2007 RORC IRC Nationals Swan 45 Class Winner
2004 Cowes Week Britannia Cup Winner
2002 Cowes Week Queens Cup Winner
2002 Cork Week Winner
1996 Cowes Week New York Challenge Cup Winner
1994 Cowes Week Aisher Plate Winner
1995 Best Boat Spi Ouest
1992 Phuket Kings Cup Winner
1987 PHRF GORC 3rd O'all

Ross Walker

Experienced helmsman/navigator.  Has represented at various times GBR, USA, Italy and Portugal in International competitions including 8 Admirals Cups (1975,1977,1979, 1981,1983, 1985, 1987, 1989) 3 Sardinia Cup, 1Southern Cross.

Overall winner Newport- Bermuda 1972 Noryema, One Ton Cup 1976 Resolute Salmon, Sardinia Cup Italy Mandrake. Lots of Team Racing and Match Racing. 

Other Team Members

Name Position ISAF Sailor ID
Oliver Stanley PIT GBROS3
James Fawcett TRIM GBRJF56
Russell Peters MAIN GBRRP74
Tom Clementi TRIM GBRTC58
Patrick Tolhurst MAST GBRPT36
Rupert Syme BOW GBRRS24
Charlotte Wellesley SEWER GBRCW62
Skip Mattos Owner's Rep

The Castle
Cowes, Isle of Wight


Club History


2011 Official Sponsors

2011 Supporters