Member Sign In

Member Sign In

Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club


The Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club
Newport, Australia

alfred burgee

The Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club traces its origins back to the Mosquito Yacht Club, founded in 1856 on Sydney Harbour. a decade later it was renamed in honor of Prince Alfred’s visit to Sydney in January 1868. In 1911, King George V gave the club permission to add the royal prefix to its name. By 1919, Sydney Harbour was becoming congested, and the club looked 25 miles north to Pittwater, eventually buying property on Green Point. But it wasn’t until after World War II that the club as it is now known began to take shape. The club sold its Sydney clubhouse in 1970 and focused on the Pittwater property, which now features all the amenities and activities of a top-flight yacht club, plus a marina capable of accommodating up to 352 boats. The club’s Hall of Fame is a who’s who of international yachting. among the more famous RPAYC members are America’s Cup skippers James Spithill and Iain Murray, and Olympians Colin Beashel, Glen Bourke, Nina Curtis, and Bob Miller (aka Ben Lexcen, the designer of Australia II).
Click here to visit the Club's website. 

About The Team

Co-Skippers: Mark Griffith & Bruce Ferguson
Boat: Barleycorn

Competition in the Sydney 38 Class will provide the training ground for the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club's challenge for the 2015 Invitational Cup. The Sydney 38 class is very similar to the Swan 42 class in a few key areas. Both are moderate displacement race boats with strong fleets in their local areas. Like the Swan 42, the Sydney 38 is raced by a largely Corinthian crew. As was the case in 2013, Sydney 38 rivals Mark Griffith and Bruce Ferguson have stepped forward and will form the heart of the 2015 RPAYC team with Griffith and Ferguson sharing the helm and Murray Gordon as tactician calling tactics. The team is practicing in two Sydney 38s.


Official Sponsors