2021 Morgan Cup

2021 Morgan Cup

July 30-August 1, 2021

General Format

The 18th running of the Morgan Cup Team Race will take place July 30-August 1, with an optional practice day July 29.  Teams will compete in three-boat teams with 3 or 4 sailors per boat, a total team weight limit of 2,100 pounds, and at least 4 of each gender per team. Per the Notice of Race, there is no requirement for team members to be from the same club or organization, but each skipper must be a current member of their member national authority.

Entry is by invitation. As the event was not run in 2020, the winning teams from the 2019 Baldwin Cup, Halloween Team Race, Lee Trophy, Morgan Cup and Soiland Cup, along with all other teams invited in 2020, are automatically re-invited. Other teams may complete the Request for Invitation form which must be submitted along with a team resume no later than February 8, 2021. In the event a space becomes available, teams that have requested an invitation will be considered.

The Morgan Cup was presented by the members of the New York Yacht Club to J. P. Morgan as a token of esteem and a mark of appreciation of his service to the club as Commodore, 1919-1921, and is dedicated as the perpetual award for the winning team of the New York Yacht Club Morgan Cup Team Race Invitational.

2019 Morgan Cup winners St. Francis Yacht Club (photo by Stu Streuli)

2020 Morgan Cup