2018 Morgan Cup

2018 Morgan Cup

NYYC Invitational Team Race Regatta for the Morgan Cup

August 3-5, 2018
Newport, Rhode Island

Event Chairs: Susan Daly and Heather Tow-Yick


Entry is by invitation. The winning teams from the 2017 Baldwin Cup, Halloween Team Race, Lee Trophy, Morgan Cup and Soiland Cup are automatically invited. Other teams can use the Request for Invitation form which must be submitted along with a team resume no later than February 5, 2018. Invitations and the entry form will be sent to the selected teams on February 15.  

Teams will compete in three-boat teams with 3 or 4 sailors per boat and a total team weight limit of 2,100 pounds. Per the Notice of Race, there is no requirement for team members to be from the same club or organization; but, each skipper must be a current member of their member national authority.

The Morgan Cup was presented by the members of the New York Yacht Club to J. P. Morgan as a token of esteem and a mark of appreciation of his service to the club as Commodore, 1919-1921, and is dedicated as the perpetual award for the winning team of the New York Yacht Club Morgan Cup Team Race Invitational.

2016 Morgan Cup winners San Diego YC (Photo by Makena Masterson)

2018 Morgan Cup - Accordion