2020 ORC/IRC World Championship



The 2020 ORC/IRC World Championship will bring top sailing teams from around the globe to battle on Rhode Island Sound and Narragansett Bay for one of three coveted world titles. It's the first time in two decades this regatta, which will be held out of the New York Yacht Club Harbour Court from September 25 to October 3, 2020, has been held in North America. 

Because each of the three divisions is limited to 50 boats, there is a strong incentive to sign up early. The first 30 boats that register for each class will be guaranteed a spot in the regatta. Beyond that initial group, a selection process may be required if there are more than 50 total entries for any class. 

Classes are defined by the Class Division Length (CDL)*:
  • Class A: 16.500 >= CDL > 11.620 
  • Class B: 11.620 >= CDL > 9.800 
  • Class C: 9.800 >= CDL > 8.000 
*All CDL values are based on the 2019 version of the ORC VPP and may be updated when the 2020 VPP
become available.

Race Documents

Registration & Entry List

Online registration will open on Friday, October 25, 2019.
 

News

Preliminary Schedule

  • Friday, September 25 - Registration and measurement
  •  
  • Saturday, September 26 - Registration and measurement
  •  
  • Sunday, September 27 - Registration and measurement, Practice Race, Opening Ceremony
  •  
  • Monday, September 28 - Long Offshore Race
  •  
  • Tuesday, September 29 - Long Offshore Race (continued)
  •  
  • Wednesday, September 30 - Inshore Race Day 1
  •  
  • Thursday, October 1 - Inshore Race Day 2
  •  
  • Friday, October 2 - Short Offshore Race
  •  
  • Saturday, October 3 - Inshore Race Day 3, Closing Ceremony

Newport Area Logistics & Docking