Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club

Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club

Causeway Bay, Hong Kong

RHKYC's sixth Rolex New York

This year will be RHKYC's sixth Rolex New York Yacht Club Invitational Cup, as they have competed in every IC over the course of the last decade. RHKYC's best finish was during their most recent attempt in 2017 when they placed sixth. 

One of the oldest and most prestigious clubs in Hong Kong, the RHKYC is proud of its rich, colorful history, which stretches back over 160 years of social and competitive sailing and rowing. The club has evolved into a multi-faceted and cosmopolitan organization, and its membership enjoys a comprehensive range of facilities, both afloat and onshore. Kellett Island in Causeway Bay is the club's principal base and acts as the parent site to the two smaller branches of the club, at Shelter Cove near Sai Kung, which is the base for cruisers, and Middle Island in Repulse Bay, which is the home to dinghy sailors, sail training, and rowing. The RHKYC provides sailing and owing courses for members and non-members at various levels to nurture the development of both sports.

Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club Team Profile

Team Profile

Skipper: Martin Kaye

Doing the tactics for RHKYC's team in the 2019 IC will be Stephen Ellis, Hong Kong Yachting Association's Yachtsman of the Year 1994 and a recipient of the RHKYC Noel Croucher Award for services to yachting. Ellis hails from NSW, Australia, and in his 45 years of experience of sailing in both offshore and One-Design yachts, he has made a serious mark in the sailing world in both Australia and China. He has raced in countless international and offshore regattas, including the China Sea Race, the Hong Kong to Vietnam Race, Cowes Week, Cork Week, and many others. He is also incredibly active in several different yacht clubs, as a member of RHKYC, Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, and Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club. At the RHKYC specifically, Ellis is the Hong Kong Etchells class President, International Etchells Govenor, and a member of various other committees.